Reviews

perfect - Rating 5/5

Perfect hosts and locationHelen and William were just lovely and the location was ideal. Very comfortable, made by o feel welcome and delicious breakfasts. Thank you

Response

thank you kevin very much

Reviewer:k | Fri 1st Jun 2018 | 2 weeks ago


totally clean and very welcoming - Rating 5/5

Stayed here for 2 nights and were made to fell welcome by Helen and William. The bed was comfortable and the place itself was a stones throw from the shops, local pubs,beach and railway so spot on for what we wanted. As with a lot of B and Bs it could do with a bit of a clean up and I think that for me a couple of nights in the Barclay was enough but would definitely go there again for a weekend if the chance came along.

Response

thank you Adesee you very soon

Reviewer:a | Fri 1st Jun 2018 | 2 weeks ago


lovely gem - Rating 5/5

i stayed here for 5 wonderful days very relaxing stay great food great beds wonderful hostsonly a very short walk to beach and shops parking was fab had a reserved parking in and out as i pleased for a few pounds a day not bad at all

Response

thank you Heather b for your kind review

Reviewer:Heather| Mon 21st May 2018 | 1 month ago


Amazing place and amazing hosts - Rating 5/5

Had a great stay and couldn't of asked for anything more. The room was very clean and bed was comfy. And everything was right on the doorstep. The host's were amazing and warming and made our stay what it was. Will definitely return and the breakfast is excatly what you need to start your day. 5 Star in my opinion

Response

thank you so much hope to see you soon

Reviewer:c | Sat 5th May 2018 | 1 month ago


Amazing will return - Rating 5/5

The whole place was amazing the host's were very welcoming and warming and couldn't do enough for you. Amazing stay will definitely return. Everything you would want to do is virtually on your doorstep. The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable

Response

thank you for your kind review

Reviewer:c | Sat 5th May 2018 | 1 month ago


Top place- Rating 5/5

The Barclays. Premier league.Friendly people and superb value. The breakfast sets you up for the day. Highly recommended.

Response

Thank you so much

Reviewer:| Mon 27th Nov 2017 | 6 months ago


Just great- Rating 5/5

Adequate room, superb breakfast, friendly people and great value. I would recommend to anyone that was going to the Torbay area.

Response

Thank you Barry glad you enjoyed your stay with us

Reviewer:Barry C | Tue 21st Nov 2017 | 7 months ago


- Rating 5/5

we stayed here for a few nights had room 5,4,3 what a delightful placerooms nice and big hot water everytimeblackout curatin we met merlin the gecko and peaches and all the fishesfriendly place anyone say there not needs there head reading rooms clean tidy beds are to die forwarm rooms big towels and many extrasevery daywe get more teas and coffee bins empty bathroom cleaned and sidesbig breakfast loads of toast (you can ask for more)it should be a 5 *

Response

thank you yearuf glad you like your stay with us

Reviewer:y | Tue 31st Oct 2017 | 7 months ago


warm place - Rating 5/5

lovely guest house breakfast very good lots of itvery knowlegeable about the area where to eat and gofantatic place come and go as i pleased like that we felt not watched all the time there if we needed them after greetings

Response

thank you djion for your kind review

Reviewer:d | Thu 26th Oct 2017 | 7 months ago


laid back place - Rating 5/5

I liked the laid back help yourself to starters, and breakfast nicely served, will book again, very handy for all local attractions and close to the public service for travel around the local sight seeing, a very good location.

Response

thank you so much

Reviewer:seasonal t | Wed 27th Sep 2017 | 8 months ago


- Rating 5/5

Our room was clean and comfortable and the breakfasts were excellent. The owners make you very welcome and ensure that you feel relaxed as though you are at home.Parking is a problem in the area but the location of the guest house more than makes up for this. We were fortunate in knowing from past experience where we could 'lose' the car!

Response

Thank you very much

Reviewer:R | Sun 24th Sep 2017 | 9 months ago


no complaints - Rating 5/5

No complaints whatsoever. Very well looked after, great hospitality. Excellent accommodation and food. Close to the beach and shopping precinct. Many thanks for a great and relaxing holiday

Response

thank you

Reviewer:p | Sun 24th Sep 2017 | 9 months ago


- Rating 5/5

Breakfast was perfect. Bed was very comfortable and the whole place was absolutely spotless

Response

thank you

Reviewer:| Wed 20th Sep 2017 | 9 months ago


- Rating 5/5

Stayed here in august for a week with the family and felt so at home and well looked after, our family room was excellent, lovely shower and big thick towels, we all fell in love with how warm and kind both William and Helen were and we were all very sad when we left and can't wait to go back, can't say enough good things about this place, thank you so much William and Helen for everything, you're the best!, hopefully see you next year. Andy,Adele Leon & Cadence

Response

thank you

Reviewer:| Tue 19th Sep 2017 | 9 months ago


at barley guest house - Rating 5/5

Stayed here for a week. Exellent value and i had a large room with an En-suite. Very friendly people and this place is close to everything in Paignton. Would not hesitate to recommend the Barclay Guest House.

Response

thank you

Reviewer:mr M | Tue 12th Sep 2017 | 9 months ago


- Rating 5/5

Stayed at this lovely guesthouse with my daughter for a week. It's in a great location 5 minutes from the train and bus station 2 minutes from the beach . Room was spotlessly clean & comfortable. The couple that run it are really friendly and helpful . Breakfast was really good value for money. Would highly recommend .

Reviewer:| Tue 12th Sep 2017 | 9 months ago


2 night stay - Rating 5/5

Just had a two night break using the Barclay as our base.. Me and her who must be obeyed thought it was spot on.. Our room was a good size with a very comfortable double bed and very, very clean and tidy. The en suite was again spotless with a very good shower.. Breakfast is ordered the night before so it's cooked fresh for any time you decide between 8/9.. Breakfast is as complete as you could wish for and well enjoyable.. Cereal, toast, coffee, tea, juice and of course a good old fry up.. Unfortunately due to a little bit too much Captain Morgans rum and Thatchers Haze cloudy cider, we missed breakfast the second morning, doh! Overall, a really nice place to stay and a very friendly couple.. Will most definitely be back again soon for another couple of nights away from the beloved children.. All the best Billy and Kirsty

Response

thank you Billy and Kirsty

Reviewer:billy and K | Sun 10th Sep 2017 | 9 months ago


Great guest house- Rating 5/5

Lovely clean tidy placeWonderful beds

Response

Thank you miss Johnson

Reviewer:Rosie j | Tue 5th Sep 2017 | 9 months ago


- Rating 5/5

This is a great place to stay.This is an excellent Guest House. The owners were great, made us all feel welcome, William and Helen were very helpful and the breakfast was lovely. The room was really spacious for a family of 4 and very comfy. Brilliant location, short walk to beach, close to all amenities. We would definitely stay again, highly recommend.

Response

Thank you Marc

Reviewer:M | Fri 1st Sep 2017 | 9 months ago


VERY CLEAN - Rating 5/5

FOR THE PRICE I AM SO SURPRISED HOW CLEAN ,TIDY, COMFORTABLE BEDS,GREAT BIG BREAKFAST, WILLIAM AND HELEN VERY FRIENDLY, WONDERFUL PLACE.HOT WATER BOTTLE IN ROOMS EXTRA BLANKETS AND PILLOWS HAIR DRYER.A TALL MIRROR IN THE ROOM A MASIVE ONE IN HALL WAYSPOT ON. CANT BELIVE THEY ONLY BEEN DOING THIS FOR 3 YEARS

Response

thank you so much Dawn

Reviewer:D | Wed 30th Aug 2017 | 9 months ago


Not in your face. - Rating 5/5

I stayed here for 10 days what a lovely place both host was not in your face which was brilliant. They were there if I needed them and very knowledgeable about the area loved seeing Merlin the gecko and peaches the cat and many fishes I did not have breakfast (cheaper price without) but William said I can have it I wanted too. Wi-fi5* just like them hot water bottle in room extra pillow even a blanket. Had key so in and out as I pleased well happy lady shame I can home

Response

Thank you Lucy glad you enjoyed your stay with us

Reviewer:Lucy| Wed 23rd Aug 2017 | 10 months ago


- Rating 5/5

Nohing ever too much hassle when needing anything. Breakfast was lovely. Information regarding attractions and bus/trains were always at hand. Seafront and paignton green literally a 2 min walk from Barclay guest house. Helen and William are very friendly people. Will definitely be staying again.

Response

Thank you

Reviewer:T | Mon 21st Aug 2017 | 10 months ago


- Rating 5/5

How friendly the owners were. Clean and tidy and not far from the beach and town centre

Response

Thank you

Reviewer:H | Mon 21st Aug 2017 | 10 months ago


gem - Rating 5/5

Fantastic location, lovely breakfast, comfortable beds and very friendly. Would stay there again, had a great time, thank you.

Response

thank you

Reviewer:r | Mon 21st Aug 2017 | 10 months ago


spot on- Rating 5/5

I stayed solo even though I was in Paignton with my mother she stayed in another guest house on beach road very near to where I stayed and considering she paid more even though my mum had breakfast Barclay guest house was way way better for the money my mum was basically sleeping in the tiniest room I've ever seen where as in the Barclay guest house I had en-suite, bed, chairs, tables plenty of storage for my clothes a TV oh though I'm not a breakfast fan I did smell the food in my room and it was nice. My room was cleaned and tidied my refreshments restocked. I thought the hosts were very welcoming and very nice people and I like they have a little cat peachy. There isn't nothing I could offer as constructive Criticism and I'm just mind boggled as to why they haven't more recognition the hotel and first greeting set the tone of a holiday or a stay and I know at first hand the greetings I received was first class and leaving I asked to leave my luggage aside in the hotel until leaving at 3.30pm they were more then welcome to accommodate me so I didn't have the strain of dragging stuff about really a big thank you William and Helen and I and my mother shall be choosing your guest house for trips to Paignton u took your hotel card look forward to seeing you again and thank you

Response

thank you Ryan

Reviewer:r | Mon 21st Aug 2017 | 10 months ago


- Rating 5/5

Stayed here for 3 nights in a family room. I don't usually write reviews but I was so pleasantly surprised that I have. The negative reviews must be from people who have unrealistic expectations on what can be expected in terms of decor/service levels on budget prices. No it does not have parking, the wifi isn’t great in all areas of the building but that is normal for most buildings with wifi. However, the parking is close by, as are the shops/beach/other local amenities which both my parents who stayed at the same time, and can’t walk far, could both manage. We thought this b&b was excellent value for money. As with other reviews, the owners are friendly but not in your face. The b&b is clean, beds are comfy and breakfast freshly prepared. The owners have added some great touches like decent-sized bath towels, an extra TV in the family room (one for adults another for the kids), air freshener in the WC which I've never seen in a hotel before. All in all I wouldn't hesitate to stay again or to recommend to others.

Reviewer:l | Mon 21st Aug 2017 | 10 months ago


- Rating 5/5

Barclay Guest House, in Paignton.Very welcoming, friendly couple who run the hotel.Lovely spacious family room, NOT all cramped in like other places we've been ! Very clean, huge bathroom, very comfortable beds.Everything refreshed every day, so it always looks like you've just arrived!Fully stocked Tea and coffee facilities, just what I needed after a 6 hr drive!!Excellent at helping you find out what to do in and around Paignton, booklet of money off vouchers most welcome!So close to not only the beach but everything else as well so great for non walkers like me !!Our week went so fast and didn't see half of what was on offer so will have to come back again and definitely stay here.As it's an older property the walls are so thick we couldn't hear the 2 very young children next door, always a bonus when you've got teenagers who moan at everything!!All in all an excellent place to stay and very very reasonable, the lowest in the road but definitely not cheap in any way. Thoroughly recommend to families and couples.

Response

thank you

Reviewer:r | Mon 21st Aug 2017 | 10 months ago


- Rating 5/5

Good brekkie -menu select

Response

thank you

Reviewer:a | Mon 21st Aug 2017 | 10 months ago


clean - Rating 5/5

Very clean and plenty for breakfast. Helen and William were always very helpful and accommodating, and we fell in love with Peaches the cat.

Response

thank you

Reviewer:s | Thu 17th Aug 2017 | 10 months ago


- Rating 5/5

Stayed here for 2 nights and had a lovely relaxing stay. Helen and William were very welcoming. Excellent quality and value breakfast. Even went out of their way to provide me with decaff coffee. Very helpful about information on the local and surrounding area. Plenty to do extremely close to town centre, beach, numerous activities for families. Would definitely stay at this b and b again. X

Response

thank you

Reviewer:l | Wed 16th Aug 2017 | 10 months ago


Very friendly owners- Rating 5/5

Very friendly owners . Breakfast was really good value for money. Spacious & comfortable room . Very clean. Excellent location - close to train and bus station and beach .

Reviewer:Claire| Sat 12th Aug 2017 | 10 months ago


- Rating 5/5

Response

thank you

Reviewer:| Wed 9th Aug 2017 | 10 months ago


- Rating 5/5

Have just come back from a really great stay here with Helen and william, lovely clean b & b , nothing was too much for them. Great locationVery homely feel about the establishment, will definetly be coming to stay again.Thank you Helen and William

Response

thank you

Reviewer:m | Mon 7th Aug 2017 | 10 months ago


private not in your face people- Rating 5/5

Pleasant helpful team. William and Helen cheery but unobtrusive which is fablots of information on places what to see in a short time.clean room and very friendly loved the cat and the geckobreakfast was plentiful I booked with no breakfast but changed my mined they were fine about it paid extra but worth every penny

Response

thank you

Reviewer:l | Sun 6th Aug 2017 | 10 months ago


- Rating 5/5

I stay here with my wife for 2 weeks, we were very surprisebecause it was the cheapest in the road. But a lovely guest house. Great value for money. very clean house. Plus en-suite free shower gel and shampoo loads of teas and coffee in the roomwith no frills ( no water bottle or biscuits ) they say thats why its cheaperbreakfast was freshly cooked, plenty of it.host could not do enough for us.Great location right by the town and beach Booked again wonderful place to stay 5*

Reviewer:h | Thu 3rd Aug 2017 | 10 months ago


Lovely - Rating 5/5

The guest house is wonderful near attractionsI read reviews on booking.com and trip advisorI can't believe I was in the same guest house as them could not fault Helen and William at all do believe what others written she for yourself clean rooms great staff

Response

Thank you abbey kind of you

Reviewer:Abbey| Thu 3rd Aug 2017 | 10 months ago


close to beach - Rating 5/5

Friendly and helpful couple. Lovely stay with the kids, very close to the beach, kids playground and shops and bars.No faults. Low cost family get away. All four of us shared the same room because my kids are young. It was an ideal break and I'd visit again.

Response

thank you

Reviewer:| Wed 2nd Aug 2017 | 10 months ago


- Rating 5/5

Nice and pleasant welcome. Relaxed atmosphere. Very nice breakfastAll was good

Response

thank you

Reviewer:s | Tue 1st Aug 2017 | 10 months ago


- Rating 5/5

We stay here 2 years ago for our honeymoon. So we came back with our 14yr son. Another fantastic stay they even gave us the same room. Very clean and always made to feel very welcome . Breakfast it plentyfull and always ask you if theres anything else they can get you. The bed is so comfy. Wood highly recommend and will moat defaintly be back next year. Thank you Helen and William.

Response

thank you

Reviewer:i | Sun 30th Jul 2017 | 10 months ago


seafront - Rating 5/5

convenient to all amenities seafront

Response

thank you

Reviewer:j | Tue 25th Jul 2017 | 11 months ago


- Rating 5/5

Stayed in a double room for 2 nights. It had everything we needed and a few nice extras too. Everything was clean and tidy. Breakfast was great with generous portions. Close to the beach and town. William and Helen are friendly and helpful. All in all a lovely stay thank you

Response

thank you

Reviewer:k | Mon 10th Jul 2017 | 11 months ago


- Rating 5/5

Bed and Breakfast five-ten minute walk from the train station - easy to find. We arrived early and were not sure if we could check in but we were greeted by Helen and told that our room was ready and we could take out luggage up to the room. The room was spacious and clean with ensuite shower facilities. Complimentary tea and coffee and shower/shampoo sachets. The bedding was lovely and clean and the room smelt lovely. For the price we were paying I was very happy. Breakfast is ordered the night before which is fine by me. There is a selection of fruit juices, cereal and toast to be had. The full English breakfast was more than adequate and I left the breakfast room feelinf full. Apart from the noisy seagulls (the noise was pretty much eliminated with shutting the window) the room was quiet and we all slept well. On the morning of departure the children had a small gift on their breakfast setting, which was a lovely thought. Helen and William are so kind and caring and were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay. I would certainly stay there again.

Response

thank you

Reviewer:s | Wed 21st Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


- Rating 5/5

We stayed in room 5. Helen and William are fantastic hosts. They are so accommodating. They make you feel like part of the family. Our kids felt so at ease there and our youngest is autistic so things can get stressful but they were so helpful and nothing was to much trouble. Beds were comfy. Great breakfast. Just next to the beach. The fair was there but room was so quiet. Slept really well. Will definitely be staying again. Sarah and duncan

Reviewer:s | Tue 20th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


homie - Rating 5/5

Stayed in a family room for three nights.Room was clean and comfortable.Towels and soap were provided.Wifi was free but slow.Owners and staff were friendly and helpful.Breakfast was freshly cooked.Everything was good value.Easy walk to beach, pier, shops and restaurants

Response

thank you

Reviewer:l | Tue 30th May 2017 | 1 year ago


short break - Rating 5/5

Stayed here for a short break very friendly and welcoming breakfast lovely, beds comfy, rooms clean, owners very helpful, close to amenities, would recommend Barclay guest houses for a short break or weeks holiday

Reviewer:s | Tue 18th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Best sleep- Rating 5/5

Best night sleep beds are so good I was do surprised room clean I stay with friend we had breakfast we paid £58 a night my friend had no breakfast paid £53 a night not bad at all parking £4 a day ok no water nor biscuits but I don't mind if prices are like this you pay for what you get.The negative reviews must be from people who have unrealistic expectations on what can be expected in terms of facilities /service levels on budget prices. Ok it's not the ritz but your not paying the prices of the ritz

Response

Thank you Clive-James nice to see you again

Reviewer:C | Mon 17th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


best sleep - Rating 5/5

room was very clean Helen and William were great nothing was touch trouble.parking was near by the guesthouse was lovely warm and homey I felt very welcome from the time I walked in the door to the time I left.I understand helen has not been well,(long term illness) sorry Helen for saying but people need to knowI read some reviews and they were a bit mean not everyone can be perfect all the time, they are only humanwish others understand. everyone has a bad day.got lots of complimentary tea and coffee every daybest fall freshly cooked breakfast and if you want them their there if not their not.

Response

thank you Clive yes we can't alway get things right all the time

Reviewer:c | Sun 6th Mar 2016 | 2 years ago


Book Online


Our Facilities

  • Credit card
  • Parking facilities
  • Golf Course Nearby
  • Family rooms
  • Internet services
  • Wifi
  • Vegetarian
  • City breaks
  • Romantic breaks
  • Walking holidays

Contact Details

Barclay Guest House
28 Garfield Road
Paignton
Devon
TQ4 6AX
01803475894
barclay-guesthouse@outlook.com